Contact & People

Faculty of Medicine
Southern Medical Program

UBC Okanagan
Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
RHS – 1088 Discovery Avenue
Kelowna, BC, Canada
V1V 1V7Tel: 250.807.9651
Fax: 250.807.9687
Kelowna General Hospital
Clinical Academic Campus
2312 Pandosy Street
Kelowna, BC, Canada
V1Y 1T3Tel: 250.980.1310
Fax: 250.980.1356

Email: smp.information@ubc.ca 

Faculty & Staff Directory

Role:
Departments:
Search Keyword:

Stephanie Awotwi-Pratt | Black Initiatives Coordinator | | Southern Medical Program | stephanie.awotwi-pratt@ubc.ca
Kim Bailey | Site Program Coordinator, (UG/PG), VJH-Vernon | Southern Medical Program | Kim.Bailey@interiorhealth.ca
Michelle Bandalo | Senior Program Coordinator, Years 3 & 4 | Southern Medical Program | michelle.bandalo@interiorhealth.ca | 250.862.4300 ext. 1362 | Clinical Academic Campus
Jared Baylis | Medical Education Simulation Lead, Interior | Southern Medical Program | jbaylis@alumni.ubc.ca
Alison Beaumont | North Okanagan Site Coordinator, FP PGME, VJH-Vernon | Southern Medical Program | alison.beaumont@interiorhealth.ca | Vernon Jubilee Hospital
Mike Bergunder | Year 1 & 2 Site Director | Southern Medical Program | mike.bergunder@ubc.ca
Shaun Bos | Patient Programs Coordinator | Southern Medical Program | shaun.bos@ubc.ca | 250.980.1341 | Clinical Academic Campus
Warren Brock | Communications Manager | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Southern Medical Program | warren.brock@ubc.ca | 250.807.8601 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Tanya Burke | Patient Programs Coordinator | Southern Medical Program | tanya.burke@ubc.ca
Emmett Campbell | Lab Assistant | Southern Medical Program | emmett.campbell@ubc.ca | 250.807.9938 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Marjorie Docherty | Clerkship Site Leader, Rural Family Practice | Southern Medical Program | mdochert@mail.ubc.ca
Morgan Duclos | Program Coordinator, Emergency (UG/PG), Interior | Southern Medical Program | morgane.duclos@interiorhealth.ca
Kristen Edstrom | Assessment & Evaluation Administrator, Years 1 & 2 (Parental Leave) | Southern Medical Program | kristen.edstrom@ubc.ca | 250.807.9688 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Erin Erskine | Translational Integrative Physiology Lab Manager | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management | erin.erskine@ubc.ca | 250.807.8572 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Carri Folk | Student Affairs and Admissions Coordinator | Southern Medical Program | carri.folk@ubc.ca | 250.807.9576 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Debora Garcia Coe | Financial Coordinator | Southern Medical Program | debora.garciacoe@ubc.ca
Tamerra Geldrich | Site Program Coordinator, (UG/PG), KBRH-Trail | Southern Medical Program | tamerra.geldrich@interiorhealth.ca
Erin Gelz | Site Coordinator, (UG/PG), RIH-Kamloops | Southern Medical Program | erin.gelz@interiorhealth.ca | 250.314.2100 ext. 3384 | Royal Inland Hospital
Allison Gilbert | Program Manager, Years 1 & 2 | Southern Medical Program | allison.gilbert@ubc.ca | 250.807.8432 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Tara Gill | Site Director, ICC, Trail (KBRH) | Southern Medical Program | tara.gill@interiorhealth.ca
Kamran Golmohammadi | MEDD 419/429, 449 (FoS/FLEX) Site Director | Southern Medical Program | kamran.golmohammadi@ubc.ca
Lisa Goodson | Assistant, Reception/Facilities | Southern Medical Program | lisa.goodson@interiorhealth.ca
Janet Halbasch | Program Coordinator, Rural Family Practice, Years 3 & 4 | Southern Medical Program | janet.halbasch@interiorhealth.ca | 250.862.4300 Ext. 5920
Neil Hanon | Clerkship Site Director, KGH | Southern Medical Program | neil.hanon@ubc.ca | Clinical Academic Campus
Femke Hoekstra | Assistant Professor | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Southern Medical Program | femke.hoekstra@ubc.ca
Robyn Hutchings | Assistant Dean, Student Affairs | Southern Medical Program | robyn.hutchings@ubc.ca | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Allan Jones | Professor, Department of Medicine | Southern Medical Program | allan.jones@ubc.ca
Charlotte Jones | Associate Professor, Department of Medicine | Southern Medical Program | charlotte.jones@ubc.ca | 250.807.9187 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Jane Jun | Southern Medical Program Librarian | Library Services, Southern Medical Program | jane.jun@ubc.ca | 250-807-8170 | RHS 210 | LIB 239
Courses & Teaching: Subject Librarian for: Southern Medical Program, Health and Exercise Sciences, and Nursing
Carmen Larsen | Site Director, ICC, Vernon (VJH) | Southern Medical Program | carmen.larsen@ubc.ca | 250.545.2211 | Vernon Jubilee Hospital
Neil Long | Transition to Professional Practice (TIPP) Course Lead | Southern Medical Program | neil.long@ubc.ca
Shonna Malczewski | Program Coordinator, Years 1 & 2 | Southern Medical Program | Shonna.Malczewski@ubc.ca | 250.807.8637 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Kathleen Martin Ginis | Chair Preventive Medicine, Director Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, School of Health and Exercise Sciences, Southern Medical Program | kathleen_martin.ginis@ubc.ca | 250.807.9187 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Research Interests: Dr. Martin Ginis focuses on understanding and changing physical activity behaviour. She has a particular interest in physical activity among people with spinal cord injury and other types of physical disabilities.
Courses & Teaching: HES 491 Honour's Thesis Seminar HES 490 Project in Health and Exercise Sciences MED 419 Year 1 FLEX MED 429 Year 2 FLEX MED 449 Year 4 FLEX
Carling Matthews | Clinical Skills Administrator, Years 1 & 2 | Southern Medical Program | carling.matthews@ubc.ca
Sarah McCorquodale | Regional Associate Dean, Interior | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Southern Medical Program | smp.rad@ubc.ca | RHS - 250.807.9455; CAC - 250.980.1337 | Clinical Academic Campus
Wendy Milligen | Program Coordinator, Psychiatry, (UG/PG) Interior | Southern Medical Program | wendy.milligen@ubc.ca | Clinical Academic Campus
Linda Misura | Administrative Coordinator | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Southern Medical Program | linda.misura@ubc.ca | 250.807.9187 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Felipe Munoz | AV Coordinator, Audio Visual | Southern Medical Program | felipe.munoz@ubc.ca
Barbara Oliveira | Research and Administration Manager | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Southern Medical Program | barbara.oliveira@ubc.ca
Chris Olivier | Telehealth & VC Analyst | Southern Medical Program | chris.olivier@interiorhealth.ca | 250.868.5200 | Clinical Academic Campus
Diane Oorebeek | Administration and Operations Manager | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Southern Medical Program | diane.oorebeek@ubc.ca | 250.807.9827 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Kevin Oswald | Clinical Skills Site Director (Years 1 & 2) | Southern Medical Program | kevin.oswald@ubc.ca | 250.980.1350 | Clinical Academic Campus
Olusegun Oyedele | Assistant Dean, SMP | Southern Medical Program | olusegun.oyedele@ubc.ca | 250.807.8253 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Jenna Pelletier | Finance and Admin Assistant, Education and Research | Southern Medical Program | jenna.pelletier@ubc.ca
Lori Pollock | Program Coordinator, Years 1 & 2 | Southern Medical Program | lori.pollock@ubc.ca | 250.807.9601
Sarah Purcell | Assistant Professor, CCDPM | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Faculty of Health and Social Development, School of Health and Exercise Sciences, Southern Medical Program | sarah.purcell@ubc.ca
Randolph Ramos | Executive Coordinator to the Regional Associate Dean and Assistant Dean, Interior | Southern Medical Program | randolph.ramos@ubc.ca
Meaghan Ross | Program Coordinator, Year 3 | Southern Medical Program | meaghan.ross@interiorhealth.ca | 250.980.1338 | Clinical Academic Campus
Tessa D Russell | Clinical Faculty Coordinator | Southern Medical Program | tessad.russell@ubc.ca
Louis Saitowitz | Program Coordinator, Years 1 & 2 | Southern Medical Program | louis.saitowitz@ubc.ca
Brodie Sakakibara | Assistant Professor, CCDPM | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Southern Medical Program | brodie.sakakibara@ubc.ca | 250.807.8505 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre

Graduate student supervisor


Kyla Shaw | Assessment and Exams Administrator, Years 3 & 4 | Southern Medical Program | kyla.shaw@interiorhealth.ca | 250.980.1335 | Clinical Academic Campus
Trent Smith | Site Co-Director, Undergraduate Education, Kamloops RIH | Southern Medical Program | trent.smith@interiorhealth.ca | Royal Inland Hospital
Pamela Sproule | Site Co-Director, Undergraduate Education, Kamloops RIH | Southern Medical Program | pamela.sproule@interiorhealth.ca | Royal Inland Hospital
Monique Sunderland | Administrative Assistant, (UG/PG) - Interior | Southern Medical Program | monique.sunderland@interiorhealth.ca
Elaine Sykes | Clinical Education Program Manager, Years 3 & 4 | Southern Medical Program | elaine.sykes@interiorhealth.ca | 250.862.4300 ext. 5256 | Clinical Academic Campus
Frank Takacs | Patient Programs Coordinator | Southern Medical Program | frank.takacs@ubc.ca | 250.980.1329 | Clinical Academic Campus
Sara Theriault | Program Coordinator, Years 1 & 2 | Southern Medical Program | sara.theriault@ubc.ca | 250.807.9601 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Thomas Veal | Financial Officer | Southern Medical Program | thomas.veal@ubc.ca | 250.807.8294 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Lizanne Venter | Year 4 Electives Lead | Southern Medical Program | lizanne.venter@ubc.ca
Kristy Verigin | Assistant, Reception/Facilities | Southern Medical Program | kristy.verigin@ubc.ca | 250.807.9651 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Christine Voss, PhD | Assistant Professor, CCDPM | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Southern Medical Program | christine.voss@ubc.ca | 250.807.8042 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: The overall goals of my research are to investigate how physical activity behaviours relate to current and long-term health outcomes in children in both clinical and community-based settings, and to identify strategies to improve physical activity participation in children. I collaborate with Interior Health on projects relating to pediatric diabetes and BC Children's Hospital Research Institute to address physical activity behaviours in children and youth with congenital heart disease.
Courses & Teaching: Graduate Student Supervision, 'Experimental Medicine' and 'Women+ and Children’s Health Sciences (WACH)' Graduate Programs, Faculty of Medicine, UBC FLEX Student Supervision, MD Undergraduate Program, UBC MEDD 412 and MEDD 421 Case-Based Learning, MD Undergraduate Program, Southern Medical Program, UBC R1 Academic Half Day Research Course, General Pediatrics Residency Program, Department of Pediatrics, BC Children’s Hospital, UBC WACH 501: Advanced topics in women+’s and children’s health; Women+ and Children’s Health Sciences (WACH) Graduate Program, Faculty of Medicine, UBC Former Site Director FLEX (MEDD 419, MEDD 429, MEDD 449), MD Undergraduate Program, Southern Medical Program, UBC (2020-2021)
Karlee Waight | Program Assistant, (UG/PG), RIH-Kamloops | Southern Medical Program | karlee.waight@interiorhealth.ca | Royal Inland Hospital
Cara Wall | Faculty Development Director | Southern Medical Program | cara.wall@ubc.ca
Christopher West | Assistant Dean, Research, SMP | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Southern Medical Program | west@icord.org | 250.807.8891 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre

Graduate student supervisor


Daryl Wile | Clinical Investigator, CCDPM | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Southern Medical Program | daryl.wile@ubc.ca
Heather Wray | Program Coordinator, Year 4 | Southern Medical Program | heather.wray@interiorhealth.ca
Lisa Wyness | Administrative Director | Southern Medical Program | lisa.wyness@ubc.ca | 250.807.9440 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Julie Anna Zakus | PGME Mandated Housing Coordinator (Provincial Role) | Southern Medical Program | pgme.interior@ubc.ca | 250.980.1342 | Clinical Academic Campus
Amy Zimmer | Postgraduate Medical Education Interior Administrative Manager | Southern Medical Program | amy.zimmer@interiorhealth.ca | Clinical Academic Campus